Department of Basic Studies

The Department of Basic Studies was initially established from the then College of Basic and Remedial studies, now College of Liberal Studies; mandated to mount preliminary programme. In the 2007/2008 Academic Session a one year preliminary programme was mounted in conjuction with the newly established Katsina State University, now Umaru Musa Yar’adua University. However, at the end of the one year programme the sucessful candidates were not considered for admission into the degree programmes of the University. The programme was therefore shelved. In the year 2008/2009 Academic Session an Eighteen (18) months IJMBE programme was mounted in affliation with Institute of Education, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria. The pioneer intake took their IJMB Examinations in May 2020, and the second and third intakes in May 2011 and May 2012, respectively. Due to the dwindling number of candidates seeking admission into the IJMB programme, the Polytechnic’s Academic Board suspended the IJMB programme in 2011/2012 Academic session, and in its place, the Department was saddle with the responsibility of coordinating the Pre-ND Science & Technology programme of the College of Science and Technology. The Pre-ND Science & Technology Programme was later stopped in the 2014/2015 Academic Session. In the 2017/2018 Academic Session, two (2) new programmes were introduced, that’s Diploma in Environmental Health Technology (EHT) and Local Government Studies (LGS): (a) The Diploma in EHT is a two (2) year (4 semesters) programme for the mission to train students with exceptional environmental compliance, waste management, and health and safety services to the community. And its vision is to foster a community-wide culture of safety and regulatory compliance for the overall protection of human health and the environment. (b) The Diploma in LGS is a two (2) year (4 semesters) programme for the mission to train and equip students/personnel in the art of local governance and sustainable developments that will bring about empowerment of the people at the grassroots for active participation in decision making process.


The Department of Basic Studies and the Management of HUK Polytechnic are doing their best to get approval for the establishment of the West African Health Examination Board (WAHEB) Centre in the Polytechnic. This is in line with the requirements led by the NBTE for conversion of Diploma in EHT to National Diploma as well as to enable the successful graduates to write the WAHEB Examination and obtain Professional Certificates.


Dr. Abdu Sagir Masanawa is the Principal Lecturer in the Department of Basic Studies. He is a holder of N.C.E Mathematics/Physics (Merit) from College of Education, Kafanchan (1990), BSc. Mathematics (2nd Class Lower), Bayero University, Kano (1999); Executive PGD in Computer Studies (Upper Credit), A.T.B.U, Bauchi (2001); MSc. Information Technology (2nd Class Upper), National Open University of Nigeria, (2010); M.Tech Mathematics (1st Class), Federal University of Technology, Minna (2012) and PhD Mathematics (Neural Networks), Universiti Sains Malaysia, (2017). He held various responsibilities, such as Head of Department, Departmental Examination Officer/Coordinator Preliminary Science/College Examination Coordinator 2007 – 2009, Programme Coordinator IJMB 2011 – 2012, Programme Coordinator Pre ND Science & Technology 2011 – 2014, as well as College Examination Coordinator 2011 – 2014. He served as a supervisor External NECO 2008 and an Invigilator JAMB/UTME 2012/2013. He was a Part-time Instructor in Computer Appreciation & Applications, Isa Kaita College of Education Dutsin-ma, from 2007 – 2008, a Part – time Tutor in Mathematics with National Teachers’ Institute, Katsina State Branch, from 2003 – 2005. Currently, Dr. Sagir is a Part-time Instructional/Tutorial Facilitator & Project Supervisor, National Open University of Nigeria. Dr. Sagir has attended National and International Conferences, and Workshops organized by recognized associations and academic institutions. He is a Member of the Mathematical Association of Nigeria (MAN), Member of the Nigerian Mathematical Society (NMS), Member of the Science Teachers’ Association of Nigeria (STAN) and Member of the Teachers’ Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN).